thequestfor135

Food, an Empty Stomach and 200

In Musings, Rants and Explanations on March 26, 2009 at 6:15 pm

One of the major problems that I have is that I can not run after I have eaten anything more than a banana during the day.

This s a serious problem on days where school or other responsibilities keep me busy until 3, 4 or 5pm. Generally speaking, I will just not run on those days. Unfortunately, this happens nearly every Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. I’m lucky, I get Monday and Friday off.

This explains my current predicament. Barely able to run 2 decent miles and nearly 200 pounds again. I’m not 200 pounds, but close enough to know that it only takes a day or two for the damn thing to say 200.0. 200 is where I said I would never be again over a year ago when I first started exercising again. When I ran the half-marathon, I weighed 178 lbs. I had topped out at 218. So, the psychology of a number has certainly impacted my decision to start this blog and exercise regularly again. It has also motivated me to set a more vigorous race schedule.

Everyone has a number that they want to avoid like the plague. Some people flirt with it. Some people go sailing past it. But everyone has some number that turns the pit of their stomach. About 18 months ago, 200 became that number for me, as well as, 38. I almost had to buy size 40 pants at one time and this freaked me out, so now I refuse enter the range of 38. I’m currently wearing a 36 waist.

With weight loss, I reckon that it is important to set goals. Psychology research has certainly proven a connection between high performance and goal setting, but isn’t it equally important to have a number that makes you sick. A number that tells you that now is the time to get off your couch and do something. 200 & 38.

I will try to find an easy way to post my daily weight. I can gain or lose 5 pounds in a day, so I would like to find some widget that allows you to average your weight over the last five days to get an accurate weight range. I need to put my mind to the best way to do this.

  1. This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

Leave a Reply

