thequestfor135

Treadmills

In Musings, Rants and Explanations on March 26, 2009 at 12:13 am

I run on treadmills. I work out at a nice gym at a large state university. We have lots of treadmills. I have never waited longer than 2 minutes for a treadmill, and I can count on my hand how many times I had to do that. Still, purists claim that I will lose pace come race day. Well, I won’t have a race if I don’t train at all.

I’m fat, I’m old, I just don’t like running outside. I don’t like running on tracks, I don’t like running on the street, I don’t like green eggs with my ham. I won’t run regularly enough if I do not train on treadmills. I am not ashamed. I do hear snickering when I tell people that I train on a treadmill. Oh well.

There are a number of reasons that I prefer the tread mill.

1. It is easy to keep track of my pace and distance.

2. It is more comfortable on my body over long periods of time.

3. I can watch tv while I run.

4. I am not alone when I run.

5. It gives me all kinds of numbers to constantly do math.

Let me try to explain these items. I like to do math while I run. I don’t know what other people do to keep themselves from going insane, but I do math. I was very surprised how emotionally challenging it was to run a half-marathon. The math helped me keep my focus and pulled me back in when my brain wanted to quit. While I am doing my math, I like the security of having other people around. I also race the person next to me. I don’t like to get off the treadmill before them or run slower than the people next to me. Last spring there was a girl that ran around the same time as me everyday, she kicked my ass. I couldn’t beat her. The tvs are nice for the times where I just can’t do any more math. It is the same function of the bands on the race course, or even the fans, a small distraction that is easy to leave behind. For one reason or another, my knees and hips prefer it if I train on a treadmill. No soreness means that I will run again soon. Finally, I love to make that machine go faster and watch the time numbers increase. It is gratifying. Instantly so.

  1. Does the math include stats? LOL

  2. Not really. Simple math, addition, subtraction, multiplication and division. It’s pretty much an OCD thing. I have to constantly know my pace, how to get a time I want, etc. Multivariate analysis and linear regression are outside even my brain’s capabilities without a computer.

  3. […] I receive, but it would be a whole new set of numbers to play with in my head while I run (See Treadmills). Did you have any unexpected benefits with your […]

Leave a Reply

