thequestfor135

The Exception to the Treadmill

In Musings, Rants and Explanations on March 27, 2009 at 7:24 pm

Tomorrow is some sort of environmental awareness hour between 8:30 and 9:30pm. I’m not sure if that is local time or central time, but it is local and central here. Easy to do. Shut your shit down for an hour. Lights, TV, Computer, Etc. turn it off.

Ok, there is one exception to my rule that I prefer to run on a treadmill. That would be distance intervals. Distance intervals are simply put running a distance, then walking a distance, then running a distance, keep on repeating. I love to train with intervals. Time intervals and Distance intervals, I have a blog post that I would like to get up sometime next week concerning time intervals, the difference, fartlek, etc. etc. etc. This post is going to be about distance intervals.

Well, there it is. The distance I run during distance intervals. It is 1/16th of a mile to the far pole in the back corner. I run as hard as I possible can. By time I hit that back pole, I want to be pretty sure that I will throw up if I go any further. I then walk all the way around the track to this spot and immediately do it again. When I do distance intervals, I use equidistant points for my intervals. I want to walk as far as I run. There are arguments against this, but they are stupid arguments, if you incorporate time intervals into your training as well.

When I first started training for the half-marathon, I read an article about interval training in Runner’s World or some other mainstream running mag that discussed how essential this sort of training is to improving your time and distance for long distance running. My initial thought was that this was a contradiction, why sprint to train for a race that is long?

Well it worked. It speeds you up, it allows you to run longer distances. When in shape, I like to run distance intervals twice a week. I usually do 8 intervals of running and walking so that I go 1 mile in addition to the running that I did on that day. It hurts, it burns and I can’t breathe much when I’m doing it, but it is worth it because of the results.

Also, if you are looking for something to run to check out Matt Nathanson at mattnathanson.com. Come and get higher!

Leave a Reply

