thequestfor135

OVERWEIGHT

In Musings, Rants and Explanations on April 5, 2009 at 9:38 pm

I am overweight. It is hard to figure, but I am. I can run 3 miles, but I’m still overweight.

When you run as hard as I do and carry the weight that I do, this puts tremendous amounts of pressure on your joints in the lower half of your body. Soreness occurs, and over a long period of time, injury may result. This is why I am going to stick to this distance for a while. With the cool down walk that I do, I burn around 600 calories. If I couple that with cross training exercise, we are looking at over 700 calories over a particular workout. Leaving my caloric intake the same, I will lose roughly 1 pound per week. I have made slight adjustments to my intake, and I think I have safely cut another 200 or 300 calories per day. This should result in an average weight loss of 1.5-2 pounds per week.

Until I get down to a more reasonable weight, full fledged training for a half marathon would be very difficult. I would be able to increase my distance and time running consistently, but my training would be hindered by soreness and discomfort.

This is where the psychology of exercise comes into play. Patience and perseverance is needed. By retaining this distance, I can work on speed and shed some of the pounds that I need to shed to increase my distance comfortably. If I am too sore, I will not want to run. If I don’t want to run, eventually I will not run. Motivation is a funny thing. It disappears as pain increases. If one of the motivating factors to run is to lose weight (because you are overweight when you start), then workouts of this sort should be a reasonable pre-training regiment.

Satisfaction with ones workout is important. The more that you are satisfied that what you are doing is the right thing for you, the more willing you will be to continue doing it. If you over extend yourself, the results will not be significant enough to keep you on a path to your goals because the price on your body will be too high. Similarly, if you are taking too easy of a workout, you will not be getting the results that you desire and motivation will decrease this way.

I think often times that personal trainers forget about the psychological effects of soreness. Most people will not work through basic soreness, some people have a higher tolerance for this. By getting to know your client’s personal ability to cope with discomfort and pain, the personal trainer will be able to help temper the goals of their clients and better adjust their routines to be able to get the results that their clients desire. Instead, most personal trainers determine exercise regiments based on the amount of discomfort that they, personally, would be willing to sustain. They know their clients will be able to persevere, but they fail to take into account whether their clients will be willing to continue on that road.

Some smarter people than I agree…

http://www.best-running-tips.com/running-when-overweight-good-or-bad-idea.html

And many people have tried to lose weight running…

http://www.runnersworld.co.uk/forum/forummessages.asp?UTN=13816

Leave a Reply

