thequestfor135

Despite my Best Intentions

In Musings, Rants and Explanations on April 7, 2009 at 3:06 pm

Despite my best intentions, today became a rest day. I had hoped to use tomorrow as my rest day because I have to travel. Even though this means I have to wake up at 6am to get to the gym to run before class and travelling, I simply am unable to get to the gym today.

This is well needed rest though. My legs are still sore from yesterday’s workout and I am trying to avoid unnecessary complications due to physical fatigue at this point in my training. Maybe it is a blessing, but I am looking forward to getting under 25 minutes for my 5k time.

Physical and mental demands will get in the way of every runner who is seriously trying to train for an event, but even the toughest competitor needs to occasionally bow to the demands that the other parts of our lives puts on us.

Leave a Reply

