thequestfor135

Easter Break is Done

In Musings, Rants and Explanations on April 15, 2009 at 1:01 am

Well I got out of routine last weekend, but as soon as my plane landed today I hit the gym. It felt good. I am definitely a creature of habit when it comes to exercise. I need to exercise first thing in the morning.

I didn’t get much running done on break, but I did do a considerable amount of walking and eating. Luckily I only gained about 2 pounds, so I could resume my habits of exercise with little lost.

My body seemed to benefit from the extended break even though I had only been back to running for 3 weeks. I had an easy time getting through my run today, and it was at a pretty good clip. I’m a little sore tonight, but hopefully will be able to recover to run well tomorrow after my final.

It has not gone without notice that significantly more people are reading this than I thought would have. In just over 3 weeks, the site has had in excess of 500 visitors. I hope that readers will continue to realize that there are many better ways to go about training and running (Runner’s World had a great article in this month’s edition) that would probably be better for them. I do what works for me from past experiences. This is likely not the best way to obtain my goals, but it is the only way that I will be able to do what I want to do.

I’m starting to think about which half marathon I will do first. I know I want a flat track with relatively cool weather. The time frame is likely to be in the fall. I would like to raise money for a charity in this venture, but I’m not sure which one. I’m pretty sure I would rather not do leukemia lymphoma (they seem to have the running market cornered), so if any one has any ideas as to which charity I should run for this time, lets here it. I would think that they need to have a good web-based system to be able to collect donations. Other than that, I’m all ears.

If you are with a worthwhile charity, and have the ability to put together a solid web-based collection system then I would be welcoming to the idea of helping you promote your charity, even if it has not been known for this sort of thing in the past. I especially have a fondness for education and children’s health care.

Leave a Reply

